Apply for an award

Award rules


Your innovative solution can be considered for an Award if it is based in an eligible country, has a practical application that can be replicated elsewhere, and is ongoing or ended after June 2015.


Awards are available for one or more of these categories: consumers, public sector, businesses and the Citizens’ Award. You can submit an application in the first three categories. The Citizens’ Award, however, will be granted via an online vote allowing the general public to reward their favourite project among the nominees of the three other categories.

Assessment criteria

Initiatives will be judged for their:

  • excellence in their area and innovation
  • measurable impact and contribution to the EU’s sustainable energy objectives
  • replication potential and social acceptance.